High performers reflect and reset their goals at the year end. Do you?


As we enter December and 2012 draws to a close, it’s all too easy for many of us to get caught in the whirl that is Xmas. Isn’t it just as important to take stock of the year and set direction for 2013? If so, here are five questions you may want to ask yourself, including number three, which is tricky :

  1. What kind of year has it been for me?
  2. Have I achieved what I set out to achieve?
  3. Do I know what I wanted to achieve?
  4. What has gone well? What hasn’t?
  5. What have I learned?

I’m going to suggest you make some time to ask these questions before plotting your course for 2013, so that you maximise the chances of making it a fulfilling year for yourself, however you gauge fulfilment. And just as importantly, to write down your responses, so that you can refer them during 2013 and maintain direction and motivation – if you like, they’re your compass to guide you and keep you on track, especially when the going gets tough. That’s what many of our successful Olympians do – they write their goals down and they go one stage further and share them publicly, increasing the level of commitment to them. (Jessica Ennis at 7mins 30 seconds in). So, if it’s good enough for them, isn’t it good enough for us too?

If you would like a series of questions to help guide you as you reflect on 2012 and set your direction for 2013, please email me at:

markgrant1@me.com

I’m looking forward to hearing from you.

1 thought on “High performers reflect and reset their goals at the year end. Do you?

Leave a comment